Honesty, Acceptance & Forgiving

*hon|est (adj.) – free of deceit and untruthfulness; sincere

*ac|cept|ance (noun) -the action or process of being received as an adequate or suitable

*for|giv|ing (adj.) – ready and willing to forgive

When was the last time you were not honest with yourself? Was it the last time you spent money on something you knew you didn’t need? Or maybe it was that one time you were kept telling yourself you were okay but you knew deep down, you weren’t.

Being honest with oneself may sound simple to some but others it can be terrifying and very confusing. It comes with accepting your flaws, your mistakes, but it also comes with accepting all the good qualities about yourself.

I am a someone who struggles with being honest with myself. Now I know my flaws and I can accept my mistakes but more times than often that’s all I see… just my flaws and my mistakes. I am in a place in my life where I couldn’t tell you all the good qualities I have because I honestly don’t know what they are. Sure, I can sell myself in an interview for a job but that’s me as a professional. If you were to ask about me… the real me, I wouldn’t even know where to begin.

To me, I feel like honesty begins with acceptance. I believe you to accept whatever you are feeling at that time. If you are sad, then be sad but accept it. Don’t try to downplay your feelings or allow anyone else too. Accept that your feelings are real and they matter.

You don’t want to be sad forever so now you need to move on into forgiveness. A lot of times people think that forgiveness is for the other person but it’s really for you. Think about this. Here you are sad or pissed off about something someone has done to hurt/upset you and you sitting here thinking about all of that, probably close to damn near hating the person. That is doing nothing but bringing negative energy in your life and isn’t doing a damn thing to that person life. It’s not hurting them nor it is affecting their day to day life. But guess who’s day to day life it is affecting….. yours. Let all that negative energy go and decide to be happy.

Be honest with yourself. Accept, then forgive. It’s the only way you will ever be truly free.

It all starts and ends with you.

Leave a Reply

