Falling Back in Love With Running

I know, I know… I know exactly what you thinking, “How can anyone actually love running?!”

Hear me out though! I use to love running. I didn’t care if I only had time to get a mile in as long as I was running, I was happy. At that time in my life, I was striving for progress and not perfection. Running was my therapy. Running did not feel like a chore… then life happened. I started to get so unmotivated to run. I can’t pin point the exact moment that I fell out of love with running but I know that I just started to make excuses for it and eventually I just stopped.

Well today, I stopped making those excuses. I laced up my favorite running shoes and hopped on the treadmill. Side note, I was a little bummed that I couldn’t run outside due to weather but I didn’t let that stop me. While I was warming up, I had a little talk with myself about how this run was going to be different from all my other failed attempts of trying to get back into running and I think these things would help anyone who is trying to either trying to fall back in love with running or just starting out.

1. It is about progress, not perfection! It’s okay if you don’t run 13 miles today, work up to it. Take it one run at a time.

2. Do not compare yourself to another runner! This is a big no-no. You will over exert yourself trying to keep up with someone who has been doing this for years. Refer back to number 1 and repeat over and over again until you have mastered that concept.

3. Have a good playlist! I promise you there is no faster way to kill a run than with terrible music. Have a playlist that contains music that gets you going! I like to have a lot of upbeat music mixed in with songs I know every word too. The fact that I can sing-a-long helps distracts me from thinking negative thoughts about running, which leads me to number four..

4. Tell yourself that you can do it! That little voice in your head that’s telling you can’t do this and that you should stop because it hurts, tell it to shut up. Believe in yourself and tell your mind that you can finish your run out. I promise you, you will finish. Now I am going to tell you that you are going to have to repeat this several times throughout your run, but I promise the end result is more than worth it.

I took all of those 4 points with me into my run today and ended up running a total of 5 miles. Now I’m not saying to go out there and run like me. I’m saying to just get going and do your best. I came out of my run proud and with a clear head. That feeling alone allowed me to fall back in love with running and I’m sure it will have you too.

PS: The Flyknit Racer is my favorite running shoe and I will swear by till the end of time! I hope everyone had a great day and I’ll see you in the next post! 

Leave a Reply

